TOP 30: JACQUELINE WU

Jacqueline Wu

Major Political Science

Age 20

Year 3rd

Hometown El Monte

Find her on

Facebook JacquelineWu

Twitter JacquelineWu


Jacqueline Wu is one of our own Anteaters who has been extremely involved in the Asian/Pacific Islander (API) community. Through working with many organizations such as Organization of Chinese Americans (OCA),Media Action Network for Asian Americans (MANAA) and healthcare with the Asian Pacific AIDS Intervention Team (APAIT). Through these organizations she’s had the opportunity to work with Guy Aoki and many others to ensure fair and accurate representation of Asian Pacific Americans (APA) in TV, film, and other media. She also volunteers at the monthly “Turn Table” events, the Los Angeles “Quest” Pageant, and has even given a presentation on APA HIV/AIDS awareness at the recent our Asian Pacific American Awareness Conference (APAAC) this February. She’s dedicated and passionate towards these issues and friend Justin Balagtas sums up her future endeavors for us as “she hopes to use this education to continue fighting for the rights of APAs.”


ED: What is your motivation?

JW: My motivation is to help others, while improving myself.  I feel that I should always at least show some effort in helping someone or a group if I can be of assistance.  By assisting others, I can gain their perspective which I consider beneficial.  I think there is enough negativity that exists and I need not contribute more; by striving towards an ideal, even almost unreachable, end, I find it to be a motivating force.

ED: What have you accomplished?

JW: I’ve survived UCI and plan to graduate earlier than I originally anticipated.  I won a scholarship from the OCA to attend a conference in Washington D.C. in October 2009; through this, I was one of three representatives the Orange County chapter.  In the past, I collaborated with several nonprofits to produce an award luncheon and a few award banquets.

ED: What is your passion?

JW: My passion is meeting challenges.  I have a competitive nature and I enjoy overcoming obstacles.  I believe a strong work ethic and endurance allows an individual many opportunities.

ED: What have you done for the Asian American/Pacific Islander community?

JW: I’ve given college students a presence and voice at several nonprofits that serve the API community.  I’ve supported organizations that particularly address the concerns of API’s in film and media with MANAA, healthcare with APAIT, and civil rights with OCA.  Working with Young Generation Asian Professional (YGAP), I’ve co-fostered the establishment and development of a collegiate chapter to build relationships between students and professionals.  I will also be working with the Asian Pacific American Legal Center (APALC) to assist in a court project for Chinese Americans in the coming months.

ED: What do you hope to accomplish?

JW: I hope to contribute to improving the quality of life in America for minorities.  Evidenced by recent hate-motivated displays at UC’s, it is clear that the struggle is not yet over.  Eventually, I would like to become an attorney in order to assist individuals who are not familiar with legal jargon; whether my impact on the world is small or large, I would like to take the opportunity and time I have to contribute to social justice.

This entry was posted in APIHM, APSA, TOP 30 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

