TOP 30: KEN TRAN

Ken Tran
Major Psychology & Social Behavior
Minor Education
Age 21
Year 4th
Hometown San Francisco, CA
FIND HIM ON
Twitter esk00lade

“Ken Tran is the most compact ball of joy I have ever met. He always makes my day feel wonderful” Grace Young confesses. There is no question about it, Ken is a down to earth Anteater that quickly makes you feel comfortable in his presence. He keeps an open mind and an open heart in all that goes on in the world. Here is his adventure at IKEN.
WHAT IS YOUR MOTIVATION?
I’m motivated by the constant pursuit of being introspective and understanding my place in this world. The things that I have been a part of has allowed me to question myself and really look into who I am and what it means to be a person, a friend, a teammate, a leader, etc. I am constantly growing, hence the continuing process of understanding these intricate parts of myself. I also understand that in any situation I’m in, there are ALWAYS others who have it worse and I want to help them as much as I can. I want to be a better resource to them, like others have done for me in the past.

WHAT HAVE YOU ACCOMPLISHED?
Student Parent Orientation Program (SPOP) Coordinator & Staffer, Counseling Center – peer Creating Options and Conquering Hurdles (COACH) program, UCDC Summer Intern, Modern Completely Insane Anteaters (MCIA) dance team Alumni, Reaffirming Ethnic Awareness and Community Harmony (REACH) facilitator and Mesa Court – Sierra Programmer.

WHAT IS YOUR PASSION?
I am passionate about optimizing well being. Anything that can help others live better, laugh harder, smile brighter, and think wiser are things that I am fervent about.

WHAT HAVE YOU DONE FOR THE ASIAN/PACIFIC ISLANDER AMERICAN COMMUNITY?
I try to be a visible role model for those in our community. I understand that people are always watching and observing your actions so I try to be the best (super) model for my peers. I share my experiences and encourage other peers to really get involved in what they are passionate about. I try to be accessible and personable to those around me.
So I guess what I’ve done for the APIA community is encourage more APIA visibility in various fields and interests; for more representation in our community and in the world!

WHAT DO YOU HOPE TO ACCOMPLISH?
I want to continue doing more work in the mental health field, specifically working with adolescents and children of divorced or broken families. It’s a population that doesn’t get a lot of research and being one myself, I want to know how that family dynamic affects young adults during our development period. I also hope that I can encourage more utilization and understanding of the mental health field in the APIA community.
And if that doesn’t work out, I hope to become an amazing back up dancer for Brown Eyed Girls, or win Rupaul’s Drag Race…
This entry was posted in APIHM, APSA, TOP 30 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

