TOP 30: MATT AGUSTIN

Matt Agustin
Master’s Urban and Regional Planning (MURP)
Age 26
Year 2nd
Hometown Lakewood, CA

Find Matt At
Twitter mattagustin

“Mathew simply lives his life for his real passion of urban planning, photography, and socializing with his friends and family. He has been influential to me because he simply lives his own life while always being a person willing to lend an ear and advice if asked. Not only is he an influential Asian American, he is an influential human being” says Jeremy Blanco.
Matt Agustin is a graduate student in the Urban Planning Department as well as the President of UCI’s Urban Planning Student Association. While working hard and enjoying life with every humble step of the way, he still makes time to help others. Here is one of our very own Anteaters making change in our community.

ED: What is your motivation?
MA: One of my main motivations is definitely my family.  I am the eldest of four and I know what it is like to set an example for others and to those who raised me.  Career wise, I’ve always wanted to do something that would benefit society in some way.  That is why I chose to study the field of urban planning — as I advance myself throughout the field, I know that I will encounter many opportunities to physically better communities, cities and regions.

ED: What have you accomplished?

MA: As far as accomplishments go, I wouldn’t want to talk about awards and designations etc.  Instead I would say that simply finishing my masters degree makes me feel that I’ve accomplished more than what I imagined.  I’ve been able to see some of the great cities in this country and have made tremendous new friends along the way.

ED: What is your passion?
MA: Music. I just have an overwhelming appreciation for it.  Listening, live concerts, records and occasionally playing music makes me happy to be alive.


ED: What have you done for the Asian/Pacific Islander American community?
MA: As an urban planning student, I’ve research the significance of Asian and Pacific Island districts (such as Chinatown and Koreatown) to the cultural integrity of any major city. As I continue on with my career, I hope to work, or at least promote, the preservation of these communities.


ED: What do you hope to accomplish?

MA: Traveling. Maybe raise a family. Maybe start a band. Maybe acquire another graduate degree. There are too many options but I know that I am definitely going to have fun figuring out what is best for me.

Interesting Facts
Matt went to UC Riverside for his Undergraduate School and majored in Applied Mathematics.
He would “live and die in LA” and the best things about Southern California are the Lakers, Venice Canals, Hollywood Hills, Orange County beaches, the food, the people and much more that can be found at the Urban Planning Student Association blog at http://uciurbanplanners.blogspot.com/.
He’s involved in intramural basketball as he plays for his graduate schools team.
This entry was posted in APIHM, APSA, TOP 30 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TOP 30: MATT AGUSTIN

  1. Nicole Nowacki says:

    This is so cool! Congrats, Matt!

Leave a Reply

