TOP 30: AMY LEE

Amy Lee
enriching the diverse mosaic
Major Psychology and Anthropology
Age 22
Year 4th
Hometown Taiwan

Born in New York, moved to Taiwan, Texas, New Zealand, back to Taiwan and finally to California, Amy Lee has travelled far and wide to find a place where she can call home. Since a very young age living in many different facets of the world, she’s been intrigued by the notion of one’s identity and the connection it plays with surroundings. As her family moved back to Taiwan she decided to stay in Southern California to further her academic education and engagements in the Taiwanese community promoting the culture and understanding of Taiwanese history. She has been quite involved in the Taiwanese community especially with the Intercollegiate Taiwanese American Students Association that strengthens and connects Taiwanese American students in college all across America. This past year she has founded the brand new organization on campus, the Taiwanese American Organization (TAO) and has done a successful job creating a stable foundation for aspiring leaders to soar as well as provide a “place where any Taiwanese American can have a comfortable place to be” says a TAO member. Although she viewed herself as more of a “behind the scenes” person, there is no doubt that Amy’s drive and diligence has proven to impact those around her and her modest approach continues to construct an environment that is warm and welcoming from all around.

ED: What is your motivation?
AL: I’m motivated by many things, but I’m mostly motivated by the passionate individuals in my life. I have met many great individuals who really inspire me to do great things with myself that really kept me going.

ED: What have you accomplished?
AL: I survived college! (yay) graduating soon with Anthropology and Psychology majors. I am also the founder and the current president of the Taiwanese American Organization at UCI.

ED: What is your passion?
AL: My passion is to bring perspectives to people and to try my best to make a difference in the world. I hope for people to gain perspectives, think for each other, and make this world a better place.

ED: What have you done for the Asian/Pacific Islander American community?
AL: I’ve helped founded the Taiwanese American Organization (TAO) at UCI that helps to connect and promote those who identify with the Taiwanese identity, heritage, or culture. The club strives to inform and promote the people, events and organizations that represent the next generation of the Taiwanese American community. By establishing our niche within the broader Asian Pacific American and mainstream communities, I hope to collectively contribute to the wonderful and diverse mosaic that America represents.

ED: What do you hope to accomplish?
AL: I hope I can help to instill leadership qualities to enrich the quality of life of minorities and the communities I serve, while also increasing our visibility. I hope to do this through building an understanding of heritage, identity, and cultural diversity.
This entry was posted in APIHM, APSA, TOP 30 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

